ANDY EMLER MEGAOCTET

Just a beginning

 CREATION 2019 

We no longer present the MegaOctet in its nine musicians version as there would be much to say about the many recordings and different repertoires. (MegaOctet plays Frank Zappa, Strasbourg percussions and the MegaOctet…)

8 Albums punctuated the march of this orchestra which has become a “virtuoso figure” of French music today. Indeed, this music plays on all the labels bringing together audiences who love classical, contemporary, jazz or pop-rock music. “The energy of rock n’ roll, the jazzmen’s groove combined with scholarly writing ”

This new “anniversary” program invites some of the “old timers” who have not been overlooked in the history of the orchestra, not to mention the 8 other incredible soloists of this extraordinary instrumental ensemble, “they are only new and sound like 25”.

The musical content gives way to different compositions heard over the years of “orchestral travel”. Pieces representative of the evolution of the writing style, the sound of the orchestra (which became more acoustic today than electric yesterday) and the “musical staging” of the soloists will remain the composer’s priority.

The sound design of Vincent Mahey, sound engineer who has been an integral part of the orchestra for more than 20 years, and the lighting and visuals of Jean Grison who was already in charge of the first versions of the orchestra in 1989, will bring the “final touch” to this surprise concert or, as so often, humor and creativity come together in a skilful combination for the greatest pleasure of all.

Personnel:

Andy Emler: piano compositions
Claude Tchamitchian: double bass
Eric Echampard: drums
François Verly: percussions
Guillaume Orti: Alto saxophone
Laurent Blondiau: Trumpet
François Thuillier: Tuba
Philippe Sellam: Alto saxophone
Laurent Dehors: saxophones, clarinettes, cornemuse.

 

Guests:

Nguyên Lê: electric guitar
Thomas de Pourquery: voice & alto saxophone alto
Médéric Collignon: Cornet & voice

Son: Vincent Mahey, Nicolas Servant
Lights and effects: Jean Grison

 

Photos: 

Live and Studio photos by 
Christophe Charpenel
MegaOctet / “Andy au gâteau”:
Sylvain Gripoix

 

The “Compagnie aime l’air” is supported by French institutions: Drac and the Ile-de-France Region. It is also supported by ADAMI, Sacem and Spedidam for its projects. Andy Emler MegaOctet is a member of the Grands Formats. The Andy Emler MegaOctet is in partnership with the La Buissonne label and the Sextan studio – La Fonderie

ANDY EMLER MEGAOCTET

Just a beginning

 CREATION 2019 

On ne présente plus le MegaOctet sous sa version à neuf musiciens tant il y aurait à dire sur les nombreux enregistrements et différents répertoires. (MegaOctet joue Frank Zappa, les percussions de Strasbourg et le MegaOctet…)

8 Albums ont ponctué la marche de cet orchestre qui est devenu une « figure virtuose » de la musique française d’aujourd’hui. En effet, cette musique se joue de toutes les étiquettes rassemblant les publics amateurs de musique classique, contemporaine, jazz ou pop-rock. « L’énergie du rock n’ roll, le groove des jazzmen associé à une écriture savante »

Ce nouveau programme « anniversaire » invite quelques « anciens » incontournables de l’histoire de l’orchestre, sans oublier les 8 autres incroyables solistes de cet ensemble instrumental hors norme, « ils ne sont que neuf et sonnent comme 25 ».

Le contenu musical donne place à différentes compositions entendues au fil des années de « voyage » de l’orchestre. Des morceaux représentatifs de l’évolution du style d’écriture, du son de l’orchestre (devenu plus acoustique aujourd’hui qu’électrique hier) et la « mise en scène musicale » des solistes restera la priorité du compositeur.

 

La mise en son de Vincent Mahey, ingénieur du son faisant partie intégrante de l’orchestre depuis plus de 20 années et la mise en lumière et en visuels de Jean Grison qui fût déjà aux manettes des premières moutures de l’orchestre en 1989, apporteront la « touche finale » à ce concert surprise ou, comme souvent, l’humour et la créativité se côtoient dans un dosage savant pour le plus grand plaisir de tous.

Distribution :

Andy Emler : piano compositions
Claude Tchamitchian : contrebasse
Eric Echampard : batterie
François Verly : percussions
Guillaume Orti : saxophone alto
Laurent Blondiau : trompette et bugle
François Thuillier : Tuba
Philippe Sellam : saxophone alto
Laurent Dehors : saxophones, clarinettes, cornemuse.

 

Invités :

Nguyên Lê : guitare électrique
Thomas de Pourquery : saxophone alto et voix
Médéric Collignon : Cornet et voix

Son : Vincent Mahey, Nicolas Servant
Mise en lumière, projection : Jean Grison

 

Prochaines dates :

12/10/2019 : Maison de la Radio – Jazz sur le Vif – Paris (75)
11/11/2019 : D’Jazz Nevers – Nevers (58)
06/12/2019 : Le triton – Les Lilas (93)
14/03/2020 : Le Pan Piper – Paris (75)
17/03/2020 : Théâtre du Gymnase – Marseille (13)
31/03/2020 : Théâtre du Grand Angle – Festival Jazz’in Voiron – Voiron (38)

 

Photos : Crédits photographiques

MegaOctet en Studio et sur scène :
Christophe Charpenel
MegaOctet / Andy au gâteau
Sylvain Gripoix

 

La Compagnie aime l’air est conventionnée par la DRAC et la Région Ile-de-France
Le projet Just a beginning est soutenu par l’ADAMI, la Sacem et la Spedidam
Le Andy Emler MegaOctet est membre de Grands Formats – Fédération d’artistes pour la musique en grande formation.
Le Andy Emler MegaOctet est en compagnonnage avec le label La Buissonne et le studio Sextan – La Fonderie